Le rôle mal compris de l'eau dans les conflits

À l’occasion de la parution d’un rapport sur le rôle de l’accès à l’eau potable dans les flux migratoires au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique du Nord, le Groupe de la Banque mondiale a fait appel à Voilà: pour visualiser le diagnostic chiffré de ce constat.

Infographic printed as a poster

Le rapport « Flux et Reflux, Volume 2: L’eau dans l’ombre des conflits dans la région Moyen-Orient et Afrique du Nord » de la Banque mondiale a pour objectif de clarifier le rôle de l’accès à l’eau potable dans un contexte de conflit. 

La croyance la plus répandue veut que l’eau potable joue le rôle de moteur de conflit. Pourtant dans certaines situations elle en est la victime et dans d’autres, elle est un outil de coopération. Son rôle le plus important demeure néanmoins celui qu’elle joue dans la migration des populations.

Dresser un portrait global

Le projet confié à Voilà: consistait à visualiser ces problématiques pour permettre à la Banque mondiale d’appeler à l’action. Il s’agissait donc de dresser le portrait global des enjeux urgents liés aux conditions de vie des populations migrantes ainsi que de leurs pays d’accueil sur une zone géographique très étendue.

Pour présenter cette quantité dense d’informations réparties en trois grands thèmes—(1) la forte migration des populations en décalage avec l’accès à l’eau potable, (2) l’eau comme source de conflit ou de coopération, (3) le quotidien précaire des populations face à la pénurie d’eaunous avons choisi de créer un seul paysage immersif divisé en trois parties :

Diagram of infographic to show how the illustration is constructed

Avant

Table that shows what the infographic looked like before the project started
Description of the color palette

L’univers du carnet de voyage

Afin de témoigner sur le vif d’une réalité vécue par des populations qui se déplacent, nous avons choisi de réaliser des illustrations au trait et à la main qui rappellent l’univers des carnets de voyage. La palette chaude et restreinte nous permet de communiquer l’essentiel : les faits sont illustrés en couleur tandis que le décor discret donne le contexte.

Fusionner dessin et données

Certaines données chiffrées sont directement illustrées dans l’image : elles se comptent en nombre de tentes, en nombre de personnes. Le tout forme un visuel immersif, une vue d’ensemble sur la situation décrite. Nous avons fait en sorte que les graphiques supplémentaires s’intègrent naturellement dans le dessin.

Zooms on two graphs: one represents a scene in a market, the other represents two barrels of water.

L’humain derrière la donnée

Dans le cas d’une visualisation décrivant des situations tragiques et douloureuses vécues par des populations, il était important de ne pas cacher les personnes derrière des nombres. L’ajout de trois témoignages récoltés sur le terrain permet de rattacher l’infographie au réel.

three portraits of men and women, accompanied by their testimony on their living conditions

Projets similaires

Comment communiquer les efforts de financement des activités d’intégration des nouveaux immigrants à Montréal ?
Client: Ville de Montréal
Année: 2020

We will be happy to help you reveal your worth. Here is how you can reach us.

The misunderstood role of water in conflict

What is the role of access to drinking water in the context of forced displacement and conflict?

The World Bank Group called on Voilà: to visualize some of the findings in this report.

Infographic printed as a poster

The World Bank’s “Ebb and Flow, Volume 2 : Water in the Shadow of Conflict in the Middle East and North Africa” report aims to clarify the role of access to safe drinking water in a context of conflict.

Clean water is often thought of as the driver of conflict. In certain situations, water is the victim; in others, it is a tool for cooperation. Yet its largest impact remains in the role it plays in the migration of populations.

Draw up a global portrait

The project consisted of visualizing these findings to support the World Bank’s call to action. It was a matter of drawing up a global portrait of the urgent issues linked to the living conditions of migrant populations and their host countries over a very large geographical area.

To present this dense amount of information divided into three main themes—(1) the strong migration of populations out of step with access to drinking water, (2) water as a source of conflict or cooperation, (3) daily life precarious populations in the face of water scarcity—we chose to create a single immersive landscape divided in three parts:

Diagram of infographic to show how the illustration is constructed

Before

Table that shows what the infographic looked like before the project started
Description of the color palette

A travel sketchbook style

In order to bear witness to a reality experienced by populations on the move, we chose to produce line and hand illustrations that recall the atmosphere of travel diaries. The warm and restrained palette allowed us to focus on what matters: the facts are illustrated in colour, while the discreet decor provides context.

Merge drawing and data

Some figures are illustrated: they are counted in number of tents, in number of people. All of this forms an immersive visual, an overview of the situation described. We made some of the additional figures fit naturally into the landscape.

Zooms on two graphs: one represents a scene in a market, the other represents two barrels of water.

The people behind the data

In the case of a visualization depicting tragic and painful situations experienced by populations, it was important not to hide people behind numbers. The addition of three testimonies collected in the field makes it possible to connect the infographic to reality.

three portraits of men and women, accompanied by their testimony on their living conditions

Related projects

How to best communicate the efforts to finance integration activities for new immigrants in Montreal?
Client: Ville de Montréal
Year: 2020

We will be happy to help you reveal your worth. Here is how you can reach us.